LEVEL 4a: The Seven Chakras – Tratak

Print the following 7 images in color (this exercise will not work if you are staring at the images on a screen):

  • Right-click on a link below and select “Open link in new tab.”
  • Select the new tab and press “Ctrl+P” to print the image, or right-click on the image and select “Save image as…” if you intend to have it printed at a print shop.

Muladhara, Root Chakra

Svadhisthana, Sacral Chakra

Manipura, Solar Plexus Chakra

Anahata, Heart Chakra

Vishuddha, Throat Chakra

Ajna, Third Eye Chakra

Sahasrara, Crown Chakra

Complete the following meditation exercise:

  • Sit down comfortably and hold up the image of the first chakra at an approximate distance of one to two feet from your face.
  • The image should be levelled with your eyes, with no light casting behind it.
  • Stare at the chakra without blinking, until your eyes start to burn and a shimmering glow appears over and around the image.
  • You may then close your eyes and concentrate on the image that remains in your mind (the chakra will appear in your mind in it’s original color – inverted from the printed color).
  • You can then end this exercise once the image has completely faded (initially, the image will only remain in your mind for a fraction of a second).

Once you become comfortable holding the image of the chakra in your mind for a couple of seconds, move unto the next chakra. You can proceed with the next level (4b) once you have completed all seven chakras.